Nuzvid-YSRCP-MLA-Meka-Pratap-ApparaoNuziveedu is a tricky constituency for TDP always. Meka family which was earlier with Congress and is now in YSR Congress has a firm grip on the constituency. In the five elections happened here so far, they won four.

Sitting MLA from YSR Congress, Meka Venkata Pratap Apparao won three times – once from Congress in 2004 and twice from YSR Congress in 2014 and 2019.

TDP won only once in 2009 here against Pratap Apparao. TDP was upbeat when the survey reports were favorable here last year but the latest reports say otherwise.

The reason for this nosedive is because of group politics.

Muddaraboina Venkateswara Rao who lost on TDP ticket in 2014 and 2019 once won from Gannavaram in 2004.

He later joined Congress and lost from Gannavaram in 2009. He joined TDP after YSR’s demise and shifted to Nuziveedu due to a change in social equations.

Despite having community support, the lack of unity is costing TDP big time.

Muddaraboina is expecting a ticket for the third time. But four other leaders are also hoping for the ticket for 2024. Chandrababu Naidu is holding cards close to his chest and is not making a decision. This is proving to be fatal for TDP.