With the governments in place in both the Telangana and Andhra Pradesh states, The State Election Commission decided to take up the pending elections for local bodies. The elections are complete even before the Assembly elections and results are out but the elections of Mayors, Chairmans are left untouched. And now the election commission had issued notification for those elections:

July 3rd – Mayor, Municipal Chariman elections
July 4th – Zilla Parishad, Mandal Parishad Chairman elections
July 5th, Zilla, Mandal Parishad Vice Chairman elections.

All these elections will take place indirectly by the already elected local body members. Irrespective of results, TDP in Andhra Pradesh and TRS in Telangana are expected to bag maximum number of seats with defections.