KCR eyes YSR Congress MLAs merger next?The other day we have seen Telangana Speaker merging 12 Telangana TDP MLAs in to TRS Legislative Party as they have two-thirds majority. This merger takes the ruling party’s count to 84 in the assembly. On the other side, now TRS is making moves to merge YSR Congress Party MLAs in to their Legislative Party.

YSR Congress won three MLAs in the 2014 elections. Three of them from Khammam district. Two of them – Thati Venkateswarulu and Madhanlal already joined TRS. They will very soon write the letter of merger to the Speaker and it will be accepted. This will take the ruling party’s count to 86 then.

For a clarification, the parties will continue to exist even after the merger of members. The only thing is that the defected MLAs will not need to face by-elections and they will be seated along with the ruling party in Assembly. Further, the parties losing MLAs will also lose the time they get to speak in Assembly.