Andhra Pradesh High CourtThe High Court has awarded a jail term and fined eight IAS officers in the AP in contempt of court case. The High Court ordered the officers to be sentenced to two weeks.

The IAS officers include Vijay Kumar, Shyamala Rao, GK Dwivedi, Buditi Rajasekhar, Srilakshmi, Girija Shankar, Chinaveerabhadradu, and MM Nayak.

Eight officials have apologized to the high court. In response, the high court ordered service programs to avoid imprisonment. The court made it clear that they should go and serve one day a month in welfare hostels.

The service program will be carried out in hostels for a year. They were also ordered to bear the Students’ lunch and dinner expenses for one day.

The High Court had earlier ordered the removal of village and ward secretariats in government schools. The High Court was outraged that the orders were being ignored.

The orders given in 2020 were ignored for a year. The High Court considered the attitude of the officers in this order as contempt of court. The court opined that they deliberately neglected its orders.