The Third edition of Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) will begin from February, 2013. The first match of the movie will take place in Kochi, Kerala. Two more film industries will be joining the competition this time. The new teams are Bhojpuri and Marathi. With this the participating teams go up to Eight. Since its inception, television viewership of CCL matches have grown to become more popular than the International Cricket Council (ICC) games.

The inaugural season of the league took place in 2011, which was contested by 4 teams – Chennai Rhinos, Telugu Warriors, Mumbai Heroes and Karnataka Bulldozers. Two new cricket teams, the Kerala Strikers and the Bengal Tigers were added to the CCL Second Edition.